Preserving the Sports History of Chautauqua County

Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame

15 West Third Street - Jamestown, NY 14701

January 2024

<u>CSHOF Banquet February 19</u>

The Board of Directors of the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame will enshrine nine individuals at its 42nd Annual Induction Banquet, Presidents' Day, Monday, February 19th, at the Lakewood Rod & Gun Club. The inductees are Karen Bakewell, Daniel Bryner, Cheryl Burns, Tom D'Angelo, Doug Kaltenbach, Rod Maloy, Carlene Sluberski, Karen Tellinghuisen and Judy Young.

For the first time in CSHOF history, we are inducting more women than men. Other notable accomplishments by our Class of 2024 enshrinees:

- 1. The only individual NCAA Division 1 track and field national champion in Chautauqua County history, Karen Bakewell
- 2. The first Special Olympian inductee, world gold medalist Daniel Bryner
- 3. A world-class female triathlete and elite runner, Cheryl Burns
- 4. An inductee of the Jamestown Area Bowling Association and Chautauqua County Umpires Halls of Fame, Tom D'Angelo
- 5. The third winningest high school baseball coach in Chautauqua County, Doug Kaltenbach
- 6. A two-time super late model champion and Driver of the Year at Stateline Speedway, Rod Maloy
- 7. The first female wrestler to place in the New York State High School Wrestling Championship and collegiate women's wrestling coach, Carlene Sluberski
- 8. The first Deaf Olympian inductee, world gold medalist in the javelin Karen Tellinghuisen
- 9. The oldest inductee ever, 97-year-old Judy Young, will be joining her son Jim, as the first mother and son inductees of the CSHOF

Tickets are available by calling Chip Johnson at 716-485-6991 or online at <u>https://www.chautauquasportshalloffame.org/banquettickets.php.</u>

Honors for Bailey, Kindberg, Miller and Priester



CSHOF inductee **Cheryl Bailey** (Class of 2019) received another prestigious honor when she was inducted into the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame on November 8th. She was previously enshrined in the University of Wisconsin Athletics Hall of Fame, Denison University Athletic Hall of Fame and the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Section VI Hall of Fame, in addition to the CSHOF.

Bailey has become the 13th CSHOF inductee

to be enshrined in the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame. The others are **Bill Bergey**, **Chuck Crist, George Carter, Shane Conlan, Howard Ehmke, Wally Huckno, Cindy Miller, Van Miller, Don Reinhoudt, Jenn Suhr, Tara VanDerveer and Cindy Wyatt.**



Scott Kindberg, a 2023 CSHOF inductee, was recognized by Jamestown Community College on November 1st with its Distinguished Alumni Award. Kindberg, a 1981 graduate of JCC, is the sports editor of the *Jamestown Post-Journal* and has been covering the Chautauqua County sports scene for 40 years.

Cindy Miller's golf resume continues to grow. The 2014 CSHOF inductee native is one of three new members of the

Ladies Professional Golf Association Professionals *"Elite"* category. The distinction was made to honor those who have reached the pinnacle of the instruction profession.

Miller has achieved at every level of golf. The highlights include being named a Top-50 Teacher by the Women's Golf Journal and winning LPGA



National Teacher of the Year (2010), LPGA Northeast Section Teacher of the Year (2001, 2005 and 2010) and LPGA Northeast Player of the Year (2005 and 2007)

Tom Priester, CSHOF Class of 2014, was honored by USA Track & Field at USATF's Officials Awards Banquet in Orlando on December 2. He was awarded the Charles Ruter Award which is presented annually to an outstanding running event official who has given of themselves for years, across the country, at all levels of officiating in the various running event venues.



Priester has been a USA Track & Field official since 1985. He has officiated NCAA Division I, II, II track and field championship meets and also national and international meets, including U. S. Olympic trials. He also officiated at World University Games, World Veterans Games and World Masters Games.

Nagel Reaches 700 Career Wins



Duke head volley coach **Jolene Nagel** reached 700-career wins in November. She became the ninth active Division I head coach to reach 700 wins during her 36 seasons. She owns 497 victories at the helm of the Blue Devils, 118 at Georgetown and 85 at Cornell.

Jolene, a 2007 CSHOF inductee, is a graduate of Panama Central School and played for fellow CSHOF inductee **Deb Palmer** at PCS.

MacTavish Posthumously Honored By IAABO Board 39

By Scott Kindberg, Post-Journal, December 12, 2023

The membership card for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials that is on display at the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame reads as follows:



"This certifies that Roger McTavish (sic) is a member of this association in good standing for the year ending April 1, 1956 and is hereby recognized as an approved official."

The assigned number on that card for MacTavish — that is the correct spelling of his last name, by the way — is "3849."

But to anyone in local IAABO Board 39 — or any chapter for that matter — he was always No. 1.

To that end, Meredith MacTavish, Roger's daughter, was joined last Saturday morning at the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame in downtown Jamestown by IAABO Board 39 officials Tom Heppeler, Ray Spacht, Chip Johnson and Scott VanStee. The purpose of the gathering was to present Meredith with the "Foundation Chair Award," which her late father received



from IAABO in September. The award is in recognition of "lifetime service to IAABO and the game of basketball."

In addition to that presentation, Heppeler announced that Board 39 officials will wear a "RM" patch on their jerseys to honor Roger's memory; and that a legacy award by Board 39 via the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame — is being established in his name.

MacTavish, who passed away in August at 89, was no stranger to the basketball community or to IAABO, having officiated his first game in 1951 at 17 years old.

Along the way, MacTavish became a life member of IAABO, the highest honor the organization can bestow on one of its members; was the past chairman of the Rules Executive Committee, which meant that he was responsible for making up a refresher test and a candidate's exam for all IAABO members and potential members; and made up the exam for all NCAA basketball officials. He was inducted into the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame in 2011.

"We wouldn't be a Board 39 without Roger," Heppeler said.