Sans Company/Ashville Baseball Team

Editor's note: The batboy in this picture, Larry Ross, donated these photos. His father, Stacey, was the player/manager. CSHOF inductee Leo Squinn is pictured in both. This team won the 1938 County League Class AA Championship playing as Ashville and also won the 1938 City League Class AA Championship playing as Sans Company.

1938 Sans Co. baseball team
This is the 1938 Sans Company baseball team that won the City League Class AA title. It is essentially the same group of players that won the Chautauqua County title that same year playing as Ashville. TOP ROW: Gib Sandberg (sponsor), Leo Squinn, Kenny "Murphy" Johnson, Bud Underwood, Harlan "Hank" Weiss, Carl Allenson, Henry Firth, Harold Sanford (sponsor) . MIDDLE ROW: Ernie Anderson, Austin "Punxy" Oliver, Eddie Mancuso, Phil Mula, Morris "Moody" Garfield, Elmer "Dutch" Lloyd. FRONT ROW: Carl "Roque" Rosean, Larry Ross (batboy), Stacey Ross (manager).

1938 Ashville baseball team
Leo Squinn is second from the left in the bottom row. 1938 County League Class AA Champions.

The additional financial assistance of the community is critical to the success of the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame.
We gratefully acknowledge these individuals and organizations for their generous support.