The Post-Journal

Johnsons Win Craig Swanson Memorial Golf Tournament

The Johnson winning team.
From the left are Seth Johnson, Tage Johnson, Asa Johnson and Bruce Johnson, who comprised the winning team at the 27th annual Craig Swanson Memorial Golf Tournament. Submitted photo.

RUSSELL, Pa. — Forty-three golfers participated in the 27th Craig Swanson Memorial Golf Tournament which was held on at Cable Hollow Golf Course recently.

This year’s winners, with a score of 14-under par 59, were the team of Seth Johnson, Tage Johnson, Asa Johnson and Bruce Johnson. Of particular note is that Seth, Tage and Asa Johnson were all previous recipients of Craig “Swanny” Swanson Memorial Scholarships. Other notable scores were the teams of Mike Rylowicz, Doug Rylowicz, Butch Brill and Fred Wise and Dan Howles, Matt Keeler, Jeff Keeler and Matt Elliot which both shot 9-under par 64s and the team of Gary Adams, Mike Lehnen, Tim Butzer and Erin Butzer who finished with a 7-under par 66.

Long drive winners were Erin Butzer for the ladies and Larry Mower for the men. Closest-to-the-pin winners were Jan Bowker for the ladies and Mark Musante for the men.

This year’s tournament raised $2,831. Total donations to the Craig “Swanny” Swanson Memorial Scholarship Fund from this golf tournament are now $81,436 since the tournament’s inception in 1992.

To date, proceeds from the Craig “Swanny” Swanson Memorial Scholarship Fund have provided $93,000 in scholarships to 71 Frewsburg High School students preparing to enter college and to 54 Frewsburg High School alumni already in college who are actively involved in diamond sports. An additional $60,000 has been invested by the fund in various Frewsburg-area sports facilities.

The tournament committee would like to thank everyone who participated in this year’s tournament, those who attended the after-golf picnic at the Frewsburg American Legion and the generous prize and hole sponsors for making this annual event another great success.

The additional financial assistance of the community is critical to the success of the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame.
We gratefully acknowledge these individuals and organizations for their generous support.